4th Court of Appeals

What are the Courts of Appeals

The 14 Courts of Appeals have intermediate appellate jurisdiction in both civil and criminal cases appealed from district or county courts. Each Court of Appeals has jurisdiction in a specific geographical region of the State. Each Court is presided over by a chief justice and has at least two other justices. The specific number of justices on each Court is set by statute and ranges from three to 13. Presently there are 80 justices authorized for these Courts. Appeals in the Courts of Appeals are usually heard by a panel of three justices, unless in a particular case an en banc hearing is ordered, in which instance all the justices of that Court hear and consider the case.

The Fourth Court of Appeals serves Bexar County and covers 32 counties in South Texas and the Texas Hill Country. Specifically, its territory includes: Atascosa, Bandera, Bexar, Brooks, Dimmit, Duval, Edwards, Frio, Gillespie, Guadalupe, Jim Hogg, Jim Wells, Karnes, Kendall, Kerr, Kimble, Kinney, La Salle, Mason, Maverick, McMullen, Medina, Menard, Real, Starr, Sutton, Uvalde, Val Verde, Webb, Wilson, Zapata, & Zavala counties.

The Fourth Court of Appeals is composed of seven justices. It has intermediate appellate jurisdiction of both civil and criminal cases appealed from lower courts in thirty-two counties of Texas; in civil cases where judgment rendered exceeds $100, exclusive of costs, and other civil proceedings as provided by law; and in criminal cases except in post-conviction writs of habeas corpus and where the death penalty has been imposed.

Number: Each Court of Appeals has 1 chief justice and from 2 to 12 additional justices, for a total of 80 justices statewide.

Selection: Partisan election within each court of appeals district. Vacancies between elections filled by gubernatorial appointment with advice and consent of Senate.

Qualifications: Citizen of U.S. and of Texas; age 35 to 74; and a practicing lawyer, or lawyer and judge of court of record together, for at least 10 years.

Term: 6 years.

Courts of Appeals Districts

  • 1st Houston
  • 2nd Fort Worth
  • 3rd Austin
  • 4th San Antonio
  • 5th Dallas
  • 6th Texarkana
  • 7th Amarillo
  • 8th El Paso
  • 9th Beaumont
  • 10th Waco
  • 11th Eastland
  • 12th Tyler
  • 13th Corpus Christi/Edinburg
  • 14th Houston