4th Court of Appeals

4th Court of Appeals

The 14 Courts of Appeals have intermediate appellate jurisdiction in both civil and criminal cases appealed from district or county courts. The 4th Court of Appeals covers 32 counties, including Bexar County. Each Court of Appeals has jurisdiction in a specific geographical region of the State. Each Court is presided over by a chief justice and has at least two other justices. The specific number of justices on each Court is set by statute and ranges from three to 13. Presently there are 80 justices authorized for these Courts. Appeals in the Courts of Appeals are usually heard by a panel of three justices, unless in a particular case an en banc hearing is ordered, in which instance all the justices of that Court hear and consider the case.

The 4th Court of Appeals covers 32 counties, including Bexar County.

Number: Each court has 1 chief justice and from 2 to 12 additional justices, for a total of 80 justices statewide.

Selection: Partisan election within each court of appeals district. Vacancies between elections filled by gubernatorial appointment with advice and consent of Senate.

Qualifications: Citizen of U.S. and of Texas; age 35 to 74; and a practicing lawyer, or lawyer and judge of court of record together, for at least 10 years.

Term: 6 years.

Courts of Appeals Districts

1st Houston
2nd Fort Worth
3rd Austin
4th San Antonio
5th Dallas
6th Texarkana
7th Amarillo
8th El Paso
9th Beaumont
10th Waco
11th Eastland
12th Tyler
13th Corpus Christi/Edinburg
14th Houston

Categories: 4th Court of Appeals